
APPLlCA1'0N FOR DISABLED PERSON LICENSE PLATE ANDIOR PLACARD

Form must be cdmpleted in the name of the applicant. Please complete all information and sign.

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
TAXPAYER AND VEHICLE SERVICES DIVISION

44 VANTAGE WAY, SUITE 160
NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE 37243-8050

Permanent Disability Placlard
Temporary Disability Plac rd
Renewal Temporary Disa i1ity Placard
Renewal Permanent Dis bility Placard
Replacement Placard
*Disabled Person Licens Plate (see below)

DATE OF BIRTH MONTH DAY YEAR

Note: If desired, q alified applicants may apply for both a disabled person license plate and a placard.

* For disabled person license PI~tes: The county clerk will collect the necessary fees for the assignment of the disabled person license
plate. The exchanged plate must be surrendered to the county clerk before credit can be given.

Tennessee Code Annotated sectio/ln 55-21·1 03(f)(1) requires any person who was previously issued a temporary placard to submit a new
certification orior to the renewal of he temoorarv olacard. Permanent olacard renewals do not reauire a new certification.

FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME$21.50
$10.00
$10.00

$3.00
$2.00

STREET ADDRESS

CITY OR TOWN COUNTY STATE ZIP

Disabled Person License Plate) Requests: Please list your vehicle's descriptive information below. If your application is only for a
placard, it is not necessary to complete this portion.

Description of the vehicle to which plate will be affixed:

YEAR MAKE TITLE NUMBER VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER
For applicants who are a parent or legal guardian of a permanently disabled individual, please indicate the following:

Disabled person's name: Applicant is this person's (check one): 0 Parent 0 Legal Guardian

Applicant Certification Statement: I, the undersigned applicant, hereby certify under the penalties prescribed in Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 55-
21-108 and/or 55-21-103, that the statements made herein are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief.

Applicant's Signature: _ Date: _

Medical Certification: The following section must be completed by a medical doctor licensed to practice medicine, a physician's
assistant or nurse practitioner acting in conjunction with a written protocol developed jointly by a physician, or a Christian Science
Practitioner listed in the Christian Science Journal. This is not required when renewing a permanent placard.

Mechanical device used: Crutches 0 Braces 0 Other (list): .

Is applicant PERMANENTLY confined to a wheelchair? Yes 0 No 0

Then~ureofthedisabilijyis:------ ~ _

Is the disability permanent 0 or temporary 0 ? (check one)

Certifying Medical Professional or Christian Science Practitioner's Name: _

Address: City: State:_ Zip: Telephone #: _
In accordance with Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 55-21-103 and 55-21-152, I hereby certify that the disabled individual named in
this application has appeared before me and that, in my opinion, he or she meets the requirements of Tenn. Code Ann. §§
55-21-102(3)(A), (B), and (C) or 55-21-102(4).

I

Certify,ng Medical Professional or Christian Science Practitioner's Signature: Date:
TAXPAYER AND VEHICLE SERVICES DIVISION/COUNTY CLERK USE ONLY

Approved By
RV·F1310301 (Rev. 8/2009)

Date Approved Placard Number Assigned Expiration Date



(1)

REFERENCE MATERIAL FOR DISABLED PERSON LICENSE PLATE/PLACARD APPLICATION
Tennessee Code Annotated Sections 55-21-101 through 55-21-108, and 55-21-152

Ii

(2)

A disabled person is:

• one who is disabled by paraplegia, amputation of leg, foot or both hands, or other condition, certified by a
physician duly licensed to practice medicine, resulting in an equal degree of disability (specifying the particular
condition) so as not to be able to get about without great difficulty, including impairments that, regardless of cause
or manifestation, confine such person to a wheelchair or cause such person to be so ambulatory disabled that he
or she cannot walk two hundred feJt (200') without stopping to rest and includes, but is not limited to, those
persons using braces or crutches, arthritics, spastics and those with pulmonary or cardiac ills who may be semi-
ambulatory; or I!

• the owner of a motor vehicle with vision of not more than 20/200 with correcting glasses, or

• the owner of a motor vehicle who is so ambulatory disabled that he or she cannot walk two hundred feet (200')
without stopping to rest and who is seeking treatment and/or healing solely by prayer through spiritual means in
the practice of religion in accordance with the creeds or tenets of the First Church of Christ, Scientist in Boston,
Massachusetts. Such condition shkll be certified by a Christian Science practitioner listed in The Christian Science
Journal as resulting in a degree of disability so that such person is not able to get about without great difficulty.

I:

One (1) registration and license plate shall be provided free to those disabled persons who are permanently and totally
confined to a wheelchair, when so certified by a physician's statement.

Any owner or lessee of a motor vehicleliwho is permanently disabled as certified by a physician licensed to practice
medicine, a physician's assistant or nurse practitioner acting in conjunction with a written protocol developed jointly by
a physician, or a Christian Science practitioner OR any owner or lessee of a motor vehicle who is the parent or legal
guardian of a person who is permanently disabled and who is incapable of operating a motor vehicle, qualifies for a
disabled person license plate. .

Permanent and temporary placards shll1 be issued by the Department of Revenue and participating county clerks.

Permanent placards

• may be issued to persons who arel1permanently disabled as noted on the physician's statement;

• may be issued to the parent or legal guardian of a permanently disabled individual;
I!

• shall cost the same as the regular fee for passenger motor vehicles;

• shall expire two (2) years from the [date issued.

Temporary placards

• may be issued to persons who areltemporarty disabled by a non-ambulatory or semi-ambulatory condition due to
surgery, bone fracture or breakage, or similar condition, and whose temporary disabling condition and the
estimated duration of such condition is noted on the physician's statement;

• shall cost $10.00 for the initial placard issuance and subsequent renewals;

• shall be issued for the estimated duration of the condition, but not in excess of six (6) months;

• The use of a "prescription pad" statement can also be used as evidence to determine eligibility for a temporary
placard if it is attached to form RV-F1310301 and describes the mobility disabilities as "non-ambulatory" or
"semi-ambulatory". .

When the recipient of al disabled placard dies, the responsible representative of the deceased shall return the
placard(s) to the Depanment of Revenue or the County Clerk's office.

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

NOTE: An affidavit mustl accompany this application when replacing a lost or stolen placard. If the placard is
mutilated, the remaining portion of the placard must also accompany the application.


